Skip to content

Short break in transmission!

July 9, 2009

I will not be posting anything to the Blog for a few days, as I am about to go off for a short break. An old friend from Scotland is here, and we are going to drive south for the weekend. Since I have come to the States, I have enjoyed the hospitality of some of the great Country Inns, and Grant and I intend to sample three of them in the next three days.

Tomorrow we will drive past Washington D.C. and drive an hour or so west in Virginia to the Inn at Little Washington which some of the guides say is the best country inn in America. I have been there a few years ago for the  birthday dinner of a friend,  but did not stay overnight. The food was magnificent, so I’m sure the accommodation will be too.

Then on Saturday we will drive south through Virginia to Williamsburg and stay at the Williamsburg Inn. I was last in Williamsburg in 1971 when I preached in Bruton Parish Church. I was staying with Bishop David Rose, Bishop of Southern Virginia, who had spent a six month Sabbatical the year before at Salisbury Theological College where I was on the faculty. After Williamsburg, I went on to the University of the South in Sewanee, Tennessee, for a summer school. I’m looking forward to seeing how much Colonial Williamsburg has changed since then.

We will go to Mass in Bruton Parish Church on Sunday morning and then drive north to Annapolis, over the Bay Bridge and down the Eastern Shore to St Michael’s, Maryland, and dine and spend the night at the Inn at Perry’s Cabin, which has  wonderful views out over the Bay.

Then back to Philadelphia. The aim is to have just three or four hours driving each day and then a restful time in three very different places.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

