Skip to content

C.S. Lewis & George MacDonald

June 13, 2009

When I made my Anthology of George MacDonald in 1992, I was following in the footsteps of C.S. Lewis, who published his Anthology in 1946. Lewis said in his Preface: “In making this collection I was discharging a debt of justice. I have never concealed the fact that I regarded him as my master; indeed I fancy I have never written a book in which I did not quote from him.” Loving Lewis’s anthology as I did, it was a labour of love for me to assemble other memorable quotations from MacDonald’s works. But I avoided using those passages already quoted by Lewis, since they are already available, and yet some of them are the very best of MacDonald.

Here are some of my favourites from the Lewis collection:

“But herein is the Bible itself greatly wronged. It nowhere lays claim to be regarded as the Word, the Way, the Truth. The Bible leads us to Jesus, the inexhaustible, the ever unfolding Revelation of God. It is Christ “in whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge”, not the Bible, save as leading to Him.”

“That no keeping but a perfect one will satisfy God, I hold with all my heart and strength; but that there is none else that he cares for, is one of the lies of the enemy. What father is not pleased with the first tottering attempt of his little one to walk? What father would be satisfied with anything but the manly step of the full-grown son?”

“The miracles of Jesus were the ordinary works of His Father, wrought small and swift that we might take them in.”

“In all his miracles Jesus did only in miniature what His Father does ever in the great. Poor indeed was the making of the wine in the … pots of stone, compared with its making in the lovely growth of the vine with its clusters of swelling grapes – the live roots gathering from the earth the water that had to be borne in pitchers and poured into the great vases; but it is precious as the interpreter of the same, even in its being the outcome of Our Lord’s sympathy with ordinary human rejoicing”

“It is the heart that is not yet sure of its God that is afraid to laugh in His presence.” 

“Complaint against God is far nearer to God than indifference about Him”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

