Skip to content

The Good Shepherd

April 26, 2009

2384876-3-the-good-shepherdI’m still on UK time, so have been up since 4 a.m. – not something I do usually!

The Gospel at the 11 o’clock Mass is the Good Shepherd, and all I want to emphasize is that the good shepherd in the Middle East goes in front of the sheep and they follow because they trust him. No force, no fierce dogs nipping at their heels; only a well-known voice urging them on to the safety of the fold.

I see we will be singing “The Lord’s my shepherd” to Crimond, which I love. So that will lead me into the so-called “Cry of Dereliction” on the Cross, which I believe was no such thing. It is the first words of Psalm 22, and I am sure Jesus was enduring his agony, as we might, by reciting the psalms (He was overheard later saying “Into thy hands I commend my spirit”, also from the psalms). And it was a revelation to me when I realized that after Psalm 22 comes Psalm 23! So I can hear Our Lord on the Cross also saying “The Lord is my shepherd; therefore can I lack nothing” – no dereliction, but total trust, even in the worst of situations.

The last verse of Psalm 23 says: “But thy loving kindness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: ” (Yes even this day, this Good Friday) “and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever”. Surely that’s when he turned to the penitent thief and said: Today, thou shalt be with me in Paradise”.

We may be silly sheep, but we have a shepherd we can trust, who will pick us up when we fall and carry us home. Alleluia!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael Thompson permalink
    April 29, 2009 4:52 pm

    Greetings from Hibernia

    Oh for Good Shepherd Sunday!

    After all this rot of a three year lectionary I still pine for the old stable western/anglican one of my ordination
    Did we ever feel stuck? Even when the feeding comes up for the second time in one year?

    And thank you for your inspirational posting. I trust the body clock is restored

    • saintclementsblog permalink*
      April 29, 2009 4:57 pm

      Good to hear from you, Michael. I quite agree: too much variety is a pest. The familiar round of the old lections is far better. It’s not as though one cannot preach on other things too – my heart sinks when I hear a sermon that begins with the Introit and seems determined to comment on every bit of scripture being read that day!

Leave a Reply

