Skip to content

Blog Development and re-Christening

September 26, 2010

Well, it has been three weeks since I posted a blog entry, but you will be glad to hear (I hope) that it is not because I have become fed up with being a blogger. Not at all. The gap has mainly been due to the time I have had to give to recuperating after my hip replacement operation.

But it has also been due to my rethinking what I want to do with my blog. I started it to astonish and confound my critics who claimed I was computer-illiterate. (They were right, but I thought a blog would confuse them!) Then I found that the blog was useful for getting across the message of some of the things St Clement’s was doing. And then I found that I enjoyed the blog for giving me the chance to write about many subjects, and especially things drawn from the various places I have ministered and lived.

These last few weeks of idleness have given me the time to review the whole content of the blog, and to plan its future.

I think I must find a new name for it, because it has developed far beyond just the everyday doings of St Clement’s, or even of the whole Church. In a way, I would like to see it develop into more of an autobiographical account of my life and ministry, in a way similar (though far less original) than my beloved Colin Stephenson’s churchy autobiography “Merrily on High”, which I caused to be republished last year, along with “Walsingham Way”.

Our web master will add a link when I have come up with a suitable new name, so that those of you who read this blog will be able to continue doing so easily.

So I am setting you a competition: find me a snappy new name for my blog.
The winner (and maybe one or two of the best suggestions) will receive twin copies of “Merrily on High” and “Walsingham Way” (They are easier to send through the mail than champagne).

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Fr Ray permalink
    September 26, 2010 6:31 pm

    “Oranges and Lemons” (from the old rhyme)?

  2. ambly permalink
    September 26, 2010 7:14 pm

    Surely Pie in the High is on your list. I trust your recuperation is going splendidly.

  3. Brian permalink
    September 26, 2010 9:35 pm

    How about Cannon’s Fodder?

  4. September 27, 2010 12:21 am

    I’d go with something along the lines of “To Reid and Write” or some other pun on your name.

  5. Eric permalink
    September 27, 2010 12:40 pm

    My suggestion is not a pun of any kind, but I think captures the story of Anglo-Catholicism as well as a certain priest recovering from hip replacement: “Auxilio ab alto” (By help from on high).

  6. Michael Thompson permalink
    September 27, 2010 1:21 pm

    What about ‘Ane auld sang’

    but make sure you do not bring it swiftly to an end

    ‘There’s ane end to ane auld sang.’
    James Ogilvy, Earl of Seafield on the end of the then Scottish parliament

  7. September 27, 2010 4:47 pm

    “The Canon’s Canon.” I like “To Reid and Write” or another pun as well.

    • william permalink
      September 27, 2010 6:22 pm

      Biretta Tip

      Reiding the Times

      The Panther and the Hind

      Introibo ad Altare Dei

      Echoes in the Oratory

  8. Mr DG Fulton permalink
    September 27, 2010 9:00 pm

    I vote for something in Latin.

  9. Toronto Fan permalink
    September 28, 2010 2:22 am

    “Reid’s Rambles”

    “Ex Corde Natus”

    “The Bells are Ringing” (pace CS)

    “This Father’s World”

  10. Jeff permalink
    September 29, 2010 11:47 am

    The Gordon Reid Reader

  11. Franciscan Apple permalink
    September 29, 2010 3:54 pm

    I suggest “Father Reid’s e-pistle”.

  12. Joe permalink
    September 30, 2010 2:18 pm

    It’s too pop-cultural, and it’s too Americana, but I can’t help it:

    “Father Knows Best”

    With an appropriate subtitle, that seems like the perfect amount of tongue-in-cheek for you, Fr. Reid.

  13. October 2, 2010 11:57 pm

    Or…”Reid and Rite”?
    Glad to hear you are healing well and you are back on your blog. God bless!

  14. Peter G permalink
    October 4, 2010 12:39 am

    Parsonage Sage, Rosemary and Time
    (Sorry!)

    Minutes of the Canonical Hours

  15. October 10, 2010 4:28 am

    How about “Loose Canon on Deck”?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

